With nearly two billion users worldwide, WhatsApp remains one of the most popular social media messaging services after ten years of being on the scene. Though they’ve clearly found a formula for success WhatsApp continue to develop and expand the platform, including three new features. Our online safety experts have examined these three features to let you know what’s up with the changes. The first major change is the view once feature, which is now available to all users. The other two features, include ‘phone free messaging’ and ‘delayed joining’ are still in testing and are planned for release soon.
View Once, Disappearing Images and Videos
Now you see it, soon you won’t! WhatsApp have now released their ‘View Once’ photos and videos function.If the “1” icon is chosen before you send a photo or video, it will vanish after being viewed once, much like Snapchat.
This feature has now been released to all WhatsApp users in the UK and is an expansion of the ‘disappearing messaging feature’.
Here’s the key information:
The image or video being sent will disappear in the chat if the ‘View Once’ option has been selected before it was sent
As with their disappearing messages feature, the image or video can still be saved by another user before it disappears by taking a screenshot or screen recording. Users are prompted about this, the first time they send an image/video using the feature
By introducing this feature, WhatsApp are claiming to give users “more control” over images and videos they’re sharing
What are the risks?
Users can still screenshot images and screen record videos. The sender won’t be alerted. Screenshots of images or videos can be used by a bully or an abuser to control, manipulate, or blackmail the original sender
Images can also be captured in other ways, such as through a second camera device
Just because an image or video disappears doesn’t mean the effect of sharing does. This feature could be used to spread inappropriate or harmful content without a user’s consent
The ‘view it once’ justification is often used by offenders to convince vulnerable children to share images ‘because they will disappear’
This feature can provide an illusion of safety for young people sharing images or videos that they believe will completely disappear, in group chats, friendship groups, or relationships
The second feature update is not yet live and will see WhatsApp no longer be confined to relying on a phone connection. Although WhatsApp is primarily used via a mobile phone app, it can also currently be used through desktop browsers and web apps if the phone belonging to the associated account is nearby and has network connection. This new feature will now allow users to access their account on another device, even if their phone battery is dead or out of data.
Here’s what you need to know:
Up to four devices can be used together, including desktop browsers and tablets
Messages will still be sent through end-to-end encryption
Users will not need to have their primary mobile device with them to access their WhatsApp account
What are the potential risks?
Domestic abusers and stalkers could potentially use this new feature to their advantage by stealing private QR codes, which would allow them access to victim’s WhatsApp account. They could then see all of the victim’s messages. As this feature is in testing, we do not yet know if Two-Factor Authentication will be used to ensure the primary account holder can control the devices attached to their account
There is the potential for QR codes to be shared publicly, which can put anyone at risk of being contacted by a stranger
If the same account can now be accessed in multiple places without the primary mobile device being nearby, this means the account may be used by multiple people
This feature is currently in beta testing and has not yet been released to all users. Our safety experts will test this feature once it becomes available and will keep you updated.
Delayed Joining for Group Calls
Always late to the group call? Then you’ll enjoy this new feature! You’ll now be able to hop onto a group call with up to seven participants, even if it’s already started. Currently, you can only join a group call (or ‘room’) on WhatsApp if you answer when it’s first initiated.
Here are the facts for the latecomers:
Alongside allowing you to join calls late, there will also be a screen showing you who is already on the call and who has been invited but hasn’t joined yet
Links to group calls can be shared outside of WhatsApp for anyone to join
Group chat links can be shared publicly where offenders may use them to share tactics on harming others or livestream abuse (similar to the ways Zoom and other encrypted platforms are misused)
If a stranger gets hold of the video call info, they can freely join at any time and can save any contact details available at the time of the call
Our online safety experts will test this feature, as soon as its rolled outto UK users. We will continue to monitor this feature and update you as it is released fullyto the public.
While our experts were testing this ‘groups’ feature, however, they discovered the following potential risks:
Anyone with a link or QR codeto the group can freely jointhe group chat at any time
Group admins can refresh links and QR codes,butany member who has leftthe group can still contact group members if there has been an outgoing callmade whilst they were a part of thegroup
Any group member canview and save another group member’s mobile number, even if they are not a saved contact.That being said, WhatsApp doesallow all users to block and reject communicationfrom any unknown contacts
What to do if you’re worried a child or young person has shared an image online
It’s helpful to have a clear understanding of what you can do if a child or young person in your care loses control of an image before it happens. You might want to talk to the children in your care about who they would talk to if they were worried about something online.
There is always something that can be done once an image or video is posted online. Check out our blog on harmful images here for helpful information on what you can do if an image is put online.
Have an open conversation with children and young people in your care about what messaging services they use and discuss the potential risks involved
Discuss the risks that come alongside the appeal of “Disappearing” videos, photos, and messages. Remind young people that something they believe will vanish can still be saved by the recipient for nefarious purposes. Ensure they have someone to confide in, such as a Trusted Adult, if an instance of bullying or harassment occurs
Make sure a young person understands the dangers of sharing any group links or QR codes externally. This is not necessarily restricted to strangers, but also anyone who might have the intent to bully or harass
Remind children and young people that they should not accept any calls or messages from someone they do not know, as well as joining group chats including people they don’t know
Talk to the children in your care about using 2 Factor Authentication, an extra layer of protection which will help keep their WhatsApp account secure. This means that even if a password is guessed, an unauthorised user should not be able to gain access
Explain why it’s important not to share any personal information (address, date of birth, etc.) over messaging platforms
Encourage children and young people to only talk to people they know from their offline life, ask them to talk to you before adding anyone they haven’t met yet
As WhatsApp is encrypted, if a child is sent an illegal image, they should NOT forward it on or screen shot the image, but instead report the URL to the Internet Watch Foundation.
Join our Safeguarding Hub Newsletter Network
Members of our network receive weekly updates on the trends, risks and threats to children and young people online.